The Journey of the Lost

The 937 Jews in May 1939 seem to be on a journey to freedom. They had been "allowed" to leave Germany; in Cuba they were to be given at least temporary shelter, which had already worked for other refugees. The hope is great - even though the shipping company had demanded the last penny from them, even though the crew had already been infiltrated by numerous Nazis. But the cheerful courage gives way to a frightening realization: Cuba is no longer letting anyone into the country.

Program and cast

Janusz Kica


Walter Vogelweider


Alfred Mayerhofer


Matthias Jakisic


Matthias Asboth


Manfred Grohs


Matthias Jakisic


Otto Schiendick 
Raphael of barges



Gustav Schröder, Captain of St. Louis 
Herbert Föttinger


Leo Jockl, waiter on the St. Louis 
Santa Claus Barton


Dr. Fritz Spanier, physician 
Ulrich Reinthaller


Babette Spaniard, his wife 
Sandra Cervik


Aaron Pozner 
Roman Schmelzer


Max Loewe, lawyer 
Marcus Bluhm


Elise, his wife 
Maria Köstlinger


Otto miner 
Matthias Franz Stein


Charlotte, his aunt 
Therese Lohner


Max Aber, dermatologist. 
Peter Scholz


Renata, his elder daughter, seven years old

Livia Ernst / Leonie Qualtinger


Evelyne, his younger daughter, five years old 

Ilia Hollweg / Lilly Krainz


Marianne, a refugee child, a little older than Renata 
Katharina Hope Kemp / Lara Nguyen


A Jewish singer 
Marika Lights


Consul Holthusen, HAPAG Director 
Joseph Lorenz


Morris Troper, European Director of the American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee 
Gerhard Kasal


Emerson, International Committee for Political Refugees 
Igor Karbus


Luis Clasing, Branch Director of HAPAG 
Paul Matic


Robert Hoffmann, his deputy 
Oliver Rosskopf


Laredo Brú, President of Cuba 
Michael Dangl


Manuel Benitez Gonzales, Cuban Minister for Immigration 
Wojo van Brouwer


Remos, Foreign Minister of Cuba 
Martin Zauner


Captain Gomez 
Ljubiša Lupo Grujčić


Major Garcia, Chief of Police of Havana. 
Alexander Absenger


Wright, American Ambassador to Cuba 
Martin Niedermair


Berenson, Jewish Joint Distribution Committee 
Claudius von Stolzmann


Morgenthau, American Secretary of the Treasury. 
Patrick Seletzky


Hull, American Secretary of State. 
Alexander Strömer


British State Secretary 
Michael Schönborn


Kennedy, American Ambassador to Great Britain 
Lukas Spisser


A policeman in Havana 
Tamim Fattal


Victoria Beck, Marlies Denk, Dagmar Goller, Heidegard Heide, Ursula Machold, Denise Neckam, Roozbeh Nafisi, Nina Pjanic, Brigitte Sagmeister, Sophie Schmiedbauer, Heidelinde Sedlecky, Erich Fürst, Javier Griesser, Benjamin Kopp, Christoph Kostomiris, Markus Lipp, Christian Paul, Claudia Trimmel, Manuel Waitz, Paul Weninger, Arnold Wilfing

Buy tickets
May 2019 Next

Theater in der Josefstadt

The Theater in der Josefstadt is a theater in Vienna in the eighth district of Josefstadt. It was founded in 1788 and is the oldest still performing theater in Vienna. It is often referred to colloquially as simply Die Josefstadt.

Following remodeling and rebuilding in 1822 — celebrated by the performance of the overture Die Weihe des Hauses ('Consecration of the House') by Beethoven — opera was staged there including Meyerbeer and Wagner. From 1858 onwards the theatre gave up opera and instead concentrated on straight theatre and comedy.

Related events